M&M Cookies

Last weekend was not my most productive. I spent the majority watching the entire first season of Laguna Beach on Netflix Instant before falling into a minor depression upon realizing the second season was not available. I’m not proud.

But I did manage to find the time to bake something for my grandmother’s birthday party on Sunday. Someone else had already offered to bring cake, so I went with cookies.

I used this recipe for M&M cookies, mainly because I haven’t had an M&M cookie in ages. Although, I have to admit, I’m not a huge fan of M&M’s. I know. My sister used to love them, so we’d always have a giant Costco bag of M&M’s open in the pantry for her to snack on. I mean, I’m not saying I didn’t dip into the bag every once in a blue (M&M’s and Skippy Extra Chunky, amirite?), but they just weren’t my favorite. But the minis are a different animal entirely. Probably because they are just so tiny and adorable. I’m a sucker for cuteness.

The recipe is a variation of Cook’s Illustrated’s chocolate chip cookie. I attempted to make those once before with disastrous results thanks to a temperamental dorm room oven. I still can’t talk about it.

But lookit! No disasters here! And thank God, I don’t think my heart could take more disappointment after that Laguna fiasco.

These cookies are super simple to make–the dough came together in less than 15 minutes. I ended up making the dough the day before baking and storing it in the fridge overnight. I adjusted the baking time a bit (they took about 17 minutes), and they turned out beautifully. The outside edges were slightly crisp, but the center stayed soft and chewy thanks to the double-stacking technique. I may have a new go-to cookie recipe, y’all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

