Win Friends with Brownies

I suck at making friends. I mean, how do people even do that? When you’re out of school things just get real awkward real fast. This is problematic, because last Friday I had plans to grab drinks with a friend who was bringing another friend I’d never met. And my mind went all OMG NEW PERSON AHHH WHAT DO I DO?! I don’t get out much? I figured I’d do the only logical thing: buy their love with my excellent baking skillz. Who doesn’t love brownies?

 

I ripped this recipe out of an issue of Cooking Light a few weeks ago. The mag was listing their best chocolate recipes, and these phenom-looking brownies ranked number one. YES these will help me make a new friend, THANKS COOKING LIGHT!

I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, except I used less walnuts because I ran out. Walnuts are the least awesome part of brownies anyway. I also added a few extra pinches of salt. If we’re going to be friends, it’s imperative that you like salty things. So this was just helpful. A TASTE of things to come (so punny! HI, I’M CARRIE BRADSHAW. Wouldn’t it be great to be able to run in heels like she can? I can’t do that. I can barely even walk in heels anymore, which makes me sad all day. But we’ll just talk about that later I guess…).

I also added a packet of instant coffee. I’ve heard coffee brings out the intensity of chocolate, so I figured it couldn’t hurt.

Just had to show you that price comparison.  Frugality at its finest.

The recipe calls for a bake time of 19 minutes. Um, no. I kept them in the oven for 40 minutes and they probably could have gone for at least another five. So there’s that. Also…20 servings? HAHA. I had a hearty laugh at that one, as I got a whopping nine brownies out of the pan. 20 seems borderline ridiculous unless you’re going for some kind of miniature theme. Like a tiny foods party? That would work. Also, that sounds like a party I would enjoy.

The brownies were excellent, and decidedly un-’light’ tasting. Although I guess my double portion size kind of negates that, huh? Whatever. The point is: YUM. And the bribery totally worked. New friend and new go-to brownie recipe. Success.

Leave a Reply

